Unfazed…

Unknowingly, it’s almost a year since I last wrote. Since then, we’ve embarked yet again on another IVF cycle. This time, with Angela Ho from C.A.R.E.

When we first visited her, she was honest about how difficult our case looks – We failed multiple times and it does not help I’ve an existing condition that could possible complicate matters.

She recommended having me on daily injections of Saizen to “rejuvenate” the eggs for 3 months before retrieval and transfer. We went with it. Afterall, we would give any possible treatment a go if it could help us fulfill our dream of having our own child.

3 months went past and egg retrieval was performed. It was very unfortunate that my body gave wrong signals. Post-egg retrieval, Angela revealed that the bigger follicles shown in the scan were all empty and only 4 eggs were retrieved. As expected, I never had the opportunity to produce many anyway. She did, however, shared that the egg conditions were great and now we will just have to wait till I’m ready.

We forgo a fresh transfer also because I was on a long simulation cycle in a bid to get more eggs. Although I wasn’t successful, I was grateful at least 4 were retrieved and they were not bad.

After I had my menses, Angela recommended for me to go for a D&C, again in a bid to improve the chances of conceiving. A Dilation and curettage (D&C) is a brief surgical procedure in which the cervix is dilated and a special instrument is used to scrape the uterine lining. Previously, she did noticed that there was a kink in my lining and she is concerned about any thickened lining that did not shed properly from my uterus.

I was concerned about the costs as it’ll add another S$5K to the overall costs. So, Angela recommended me to go for the op in Malaysia which I did. On the hindsight, it’s something I would still consider though I might have just done it in Singapore if I have the money. I’ll cover this in a separate post.

So now, I’ve started on medication to prepare for the egg transfer. Despite still trying physically and trying to remain as positive as we can, I guess both Poh and I have almost exhausted our hope of becoming parents. I’ve turned to superstition and even tried being religious in my bid to become mum. Will that bear us fruits? I don’t know. I can’t see the future and I’m no God. All I can do is pray and continue with the medication I am prescribed, hoping that it will yield a positive result I believe we will be overwhelmed if we are really blessed with it.

P.S. Yes, the featured image has half of all the injections I took from my stimulation.

Leave a comment